Obscure Standards are Obscure

I don’t know if this happens to you, but there are certain points in my day where I just suddenly get this weird, tingly feeling and a vague thought comes up to mind. Before I know it, I’m digging and digging further into this thought— until someone knocks at the door and I realize I’ve already spent another fifteen minutes in the bathroom.

Here’s what really happened: As I was ‘doing my business’ (you know what I’m talking ’bout mmm hmm) while scrolling through my Instagram feed like any other teenage girl in the bathroom, I came across a picture of Liza Soberano. Of course, the fan girl in me couldn’t keep it cool, so I rushed on to the comments and, obviously, I praised her.

KEEP IT TOGETHER.

But as I was reading on and on, it felt like it was my self-esteem which was going down the toilet. People were adoring her ‘cute button nose’ and her ‘perfect bone structure’ (not my actual words here). I, for one, totally agree. But come on. I felt like I was a plain doughnut (hooray for doughnut references!); just plainly inadequate. For starters, my forehead looks like it can be an airport runway. And my nose isn’t safe from the hate either.

That is the exact replica of my not-so-buttony nose.

Which brings me here. Typing at a menacingly ridiculous speed about how much I’m confused by society and it’s standards. And did I mention that I’m still wearing my pajamas while doing this?

To be perfectly honest, I’m not saying that don’t have standards, because I would be lying if I said that. To steer clear of being hypocritical, I’m going to tell you right here that yes, just like every other human being, I have my own preferences. 

But that’s where it ends.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but to me, having standards is a-okay (did I just say that?). In fact, it gives you a chance to evaluate certain things or people to your liking. The trick is to be open to other things. That’s where most of society’s standards fail.

Society creates standards for the “perfect person”, but once someone comes close to their perceived image, they destroy it and attack that person. Take twerking, for example. Ever since the infamous Miley Cyrus performance at the VMAs, people have been shaking their rear ends as if they’re expecting a magic genie to fall out. But now that it’s outlived its non-existent charm, the love has been replaced with hatred (guilty as charged).

Shake. That. Butt.

It’s trying to mold us into these cookie cutter shapes, and if there are smudges and crumbs, they throw us out and feed us to the pigeons. Well, pigeons being the options of either plastic surgery or just sucking it in.

It’s not about the standards which are set, it’s about the fact that other options or other ideals are not welcome. I’m alright with the fact that having a healthy and curvy body is in, but for the love of Pete, stop hating those who don’t fit into that category. I can tolerate the idea of having ridiculously disproportionate breasts, but don’t throw stones to the ones who are less endowed.

Be open to other realities.

I’m not blaming the whole of society here. After all, we are society. I can’t blame something which I myself am part of. In order to see change, we must change ourselves first. And I know that I do have my standards, but at least gradually, I’m changing. I’m being more open to other ideas. And you should, too.

Ciao!


We have to talk about liberating minds as well as liberating society.

-Angela Davis

Leave a comment